Posted by e-Medical PPT Thursday, May 13, 2010
The menopausal transition begins with variation in menstrual cycle length and ends after a woman has experienced 12 months without menstrual bleeding.The stages of the menopause have been classified according to a woman’s reported bleeding pattern supported by changes in pituitary follicle stimulating hormone levels FSH. Surgical menopause refers to menopause induced by removal of both ovaries prior to natural menopause.
The average age of natural menopause is 51.7 years , although this varies between individuals.
The perimenopause, which means roundabout the menopause describes the time from which menses become irregular and FSH levels have increased through until 12 months after the last menstrual bleed.
The term postmenopause is applied to women who still have a uterus, and are not pregnant or lactating, and have not experienced a menstrual bleed for at least 12 months.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

0 Responses to Menopause

Post a Comment

Share This


Subscribe by E-mail & receive updates your inbox!
Enter your email address:

Follow Us on Facebook

Blog Archive